UTAMavs Blog

UTA opens 9th in preseason CollegeInsider.com poll

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
The first collegeinsider.com mid-major top 25 poll is out and the defending Sun Belt champion UTA Mavericks are ranked 9th overall.  The Sun Belt is also represented in the poll by Louisiana (13th) and Georgia State (25th).  Georgia Southern, Coastal Carolina and Troy also each received votes in the poll.

UTA non-conference opponents BYU (8th) and FGCU (12th) are ranked in the poll, while Northern Iowa also received votes and would be ranked 29th.

The collegeInsider.com mid-major poll is made up of teams from the following conferences: America East, Atlantic Sun, Big Sky, Big South, Big West, Colonial, Horizon, Independents, Ivy, Metro Atlantic, Mid-American, Mid-Eastern, Missouri Valley, Northeast, Ohio Valley, Patriot, Southern, Southland, Southwestern, Summit, Sun Belt, West Coast, Western Athletic.

The voting panel consists of the following coaches from across the country: Casey Alexander (Lipscomb), Roman Banks (Southern), Randy Bennett (St. Mary's), Will Brown (Albany), Jamion Christian (Mount St. Mary's), Jon Coffman (Fort Wayne), Jim Engles (Columbia), James Fox (Appalachian State), Derrin Hansen (Omaha), Steve Hawkins (Western Michigan), Jason Hooten (Sam Houston State), Brian Jones (North Dakota), James Jones (Yale), Mike Jones (Radford), Robert Jones (Norfolk State), Greg Kampe (Oakland), Danny Kaspar (Texas State), Tod Kowalczyk (Toledo), Greg Lansing (Indiana State), Jim Les (UC Davis), Dan Majerle (Grand Canyon), Bob Marlin (Louisiana), Ritchie McKay (Liberty), Rob O'Driscoll (Drexel), Jimmy Patsos (Siena), Kyle Perry (USC Upstate), G.G. Smith (Loyola), Damon Stoudamire (Pacific), Jay Spoonhour (Eastern Illinois), Willis Wilson (Texas A&M Corpus Christi), Mike Young (Wofford).

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/63154

Leave a comment


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Bud Light Texas Trust Credit Union Texas Health Ben Hogan Sports Medicine UT Arlington Sun Belt Conference NCAA Learfield