Athletics News

Hall of Honor celebrates UTA's best

Jan. 22, 2013

2013 Inductee: Clay Gould
2013 Inductee:
Pete Carlon
2013 Inductee: Mishael Berger

2013 Inductee: 1990 & 1992 Baseball

Hall of Honor Photo Gallery

ARLINGTON, Texas – The 2013 UT Arlington Hall of Honor class was inducted Jan. 18 at a gala ceremony at the Arlington Hilton Grand Ballroom. The inductees were former UT Arlington athletic director Pete Carlon, former UT Arlington baseball coach and player Clay Gould, former track-and-field standout Mishael Berger, and the 1990 and 1992 Southland Conference Baseball Championship teams.

The event drew more than 280 guests, and featured addresses from UT Arlington president James Spaniolo and UT Athletic athletics director Jim Baker. Spaniolo received an honorary letterman award and a letterman ring.

"The night was a great celebration of our past," Baker said. "It was a family night with the induction of Pete, Mishael and Clay along with the '90 and '92 teams. The contributions of the inductees to Athletics over the years have laid the foundation for this athletic program to build for the future."

Each of the inductees gave an induction speech. Jeff Burrow represented the 1990 baseball team and Chris Gay spoke for the 1992 team. Former UT Arlington baseball coach Butch McBroom also took part in the enshrinements. The late Clay Gould was represented by his wife Julie Gould and their daughter Logan.

"It was a really amazing evening," Berger said. "It was an honor to be there. It was special for me to have my family there to take part, and to be able to share that with my UTA family."


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago