Athletics News

Student-Athletes honored at All Sports Banquet

May 1, 2014

Photo Gallery

ARLINGTON, Texas - UT Arlington Athletics celebrated the achievements of its student-athletes in 2013-14 at Wednesday evenings' All Sports Banquet evening at College Park Center.

"This is one of the only occasions that we have our student-athletes all together and can celebrate their athletic and academic accomplishments," Director of Athletics Jim Baker said. "It is a time we can thank them for all their hard work and commitment to UTA."

The  Big Al's Community Service Award went to women's track-and-field athlete Breonna Baldwin and baseball's John Michael Twichell. Baldwin participated in countless programs, seminars and community service projects, while Twichell has experienced firsthand the values of teamwork and strong leadership.

Baldwin's leadership on the Student Athlete Advisory Committee has been critical. She has recently applied to participate in the NCAA Leadership Forum and would like to represent the Sun Belt Conference on the Division I National Student Athlete Advisory Committee. 

Twichell has been a consistent face of service in the Urban Ministries program, preparing and providing food to those in need. He participated in alumni events and Maverick Move In this fall and most recently assisted with the Special Olympics Baseball event. He has participated in our Life After Sports and Career Services seminars, and athletes supporting athletes.

The UTA Athletics Alumni Male and Female Student-Athletes of the Year are senior student-athletes Callie Collins and Kasey Merck. Collins' athletic career includes recognition as the Southland Conference Pitcher of the Year, and a member of the SLC First Team and NFCA All-Region Second team. Last year she was named to the Western Athletic Conference All-Academic team and this season she has twice earned Sun Belt Conference Pitcher of the Week accolades. Collins is a Scholar Athlete and is earning her Bachelor of Science degree in Exercise Science.

Merck, a pitcher on the baseball team, has received Super Scholar Athlete and Honor Roll recognition each semester at UT Arlington, and will graduate in May with a Bachelor of Business Administration in Management. He is a recipient of the University's Top 10 percent scholarship, the Freshman Honors Scholarship and the Academic Enhancement award. 

Men's cross country won the award for Best Championship Moment. They completed the Sun Belt Championship, with five runners in the top seven finishers. Individual honors were in order for all five runners who earned all-conference accolades and for the Sun Belt Conference Freshman of the Year Eric Ojeda

The Texas Trust Star was awarded to baseball player Darien McLemore. The award honors a student-athlete who serves as a shining representation of all of the good things about athletics. McLemore is among the team leaders in several key batting categories and has started 27 games this season. He is a member of the Student Athlete Advisory Committee, helped organize the Special Olympics Baseball event and participated in Maverick Move In, has spoken to local youth about the value of education and volunteers to help at the Volleyball Dig Pink and Women's Basketball Play 4 Kay games.  

Texas Trust is a proud sponsor of UT Arlington Athletics. Click here to watch a video and vote for Team Jim or Team Mascot.

The Faculty/Staff Loyalty Award was presented to Dr. Frank Lamas.

The Record Setting Performance award for a female student-athlete went to volleyball's Charmaine Whitmore. Her performance on the court not only elevated the play of the team around her, but also placed her at the top of the board as the NCAA statistical champion for blocks per set this season. Whitmore was ranked in the top 25 all season and is the first Maverick in program history to be the national leader in any statistical category.

Men's basketball's Brandon Edwards won the male Record Setting Performance awards. He set a single season record at UT Arlington this year. His 314 rebounds are the most in a single season in UTA history. He was the only player to start every game this season and his 852 career rebounds place him second on the all-time list. Edwards also finished the season as an All-Sun Belt selection.

The B.G. Wilson Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year went to volleyball senior Shelby Dickson. She recorded a team-high 14 double-double performances in digs and kills. She led UTA with 339 kills, averaging 2.61 per set as well as being second on the team and 10th in the conference with 402 digs, averaging 3.09 per set.

Baseball senior Brad Vachon was named the B. G. Wilson Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Earlier this spring he earned preseason second-team All-SBC honors from College Sports Madness and last season he was a second-team All-WAC member and Academic All-WAC honoree.  In 2013, Vachon started a team-high 14 games and led the team in wins (7), innings pitched (96.1), and strikeouts (75).  He has started 11 games this season and has more than 40 strike outs this season.         

The tennis teams swept the team academic GAP honors. The women's team GPA was a 3.51 and the men finished with a 3.12.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago