Athletics News

UT Arlington honors student-athletes at All-Sports Banquet

Former UT Arlington track and field standout Jared Connaughton was the all-sports banquet guest speaker

May 2, 2011

Arlington, Texas - 2011 UT Arlington All-Sports Banquet Photo Gallery

The UT Arlington athletic department held its annual All-Sports Banquet Monday evening at the Blue Bonnet Ballroom on campus of UT Arlington.

Team and individual awards were handed out as UT Arlington celebrated the success and accomplishments during the 2010-2011 academic year.

Below is a recap of the evening's awards as student-athletes from track and field, softball, baseball, volleyball, men's and women's basketball highlighted the evening.

B.G. Wilson Male Scholar-Athlete
Heinz Schwarzkopf (Cross Country)

B.G. Wilson Female Scholar-Athlete
Brittany Culbertson (Track and Field)

UTA Athletics Alumni Chapter Female Student-Athlete of the Year
Rebecca Collom (Softball)

UTA Athletics Alumni Chapter Male Student-Athlete of the Year
Jesse Payne (Baseball)

Big Al's Community Service Award (Male)
LaMarcus Reed (Men's Basketball)

Big Al's Community Service Award (Female)
Alicia Shaffer

Female Newcomer of the Year
Callie Collins (Softball)

Male Newcomer of the Year
Ryan Walker (Baseball)

Best Championship Moment
Emily Koenig (Cross Country)

Record Breaking Performance
Romain Martin (Track and Field)

Return to the Podium
Women's Tennis Team

Maverick Leadership Award
Blake McMinn, Anthony Pone, James Patin, Juan Soto (Wheelchair Basketball)

Faculty/Staff Loyalty Award
Michael Moore


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago