Athletics News


May 23, 2005

ARLINGTON, Texas - The University of Texas at Arlington earned its third consecutive Southland Conference men's all-sports trophy, the league office announced Monday. Sam Houston State and Texas State became the first schools in league history to share the Commissioner's Cup, while the Texas State women took home their fifth straight all-sports trophy.

The All-Sports Trophy in men's and women's competition are awarded on an 11-point system for all Conference sports with values of 11, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2 and 1 point, pending place of finish. Points are awarded regardless of the number of teams competing in the championship.

Point totals from the men's and women's all-sports standings are combined to determine the Commissioner's Cup winner. The Commissioner's Cup was created for the 1997-98 season while the Men's All-Sports Trophy started with the inception of the league for the 1963-64 academic year. The Women's All-Sports Trophy got its beginning in 1982-83.

The Mavericks tallied 55.5 points and turned in top-three finishes in golf (first), tennis (second) and indoor track (third) to edge past Sam Houston State (55.0 points) in the closest margin of victory in the all-sports race. This is the third consecutive trophy for the UTA men and sixth overall (1996-97, 1998-99, 2000-01, 2002-03, 2003-04, 2004-05).

The UTA women finished fourth despite turning in top finishes in tennis (first), women's basketball (co-champs with Louisiana-Monroe) and volleyball (third). The Lady Mavs have claimed the trophy seven times with the last all-sports victory coming in 1998-99.

Texas-Arlington has claimed the coveted cup in 1998-99, 2000-01, 2002-03.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago