Athletics News


Aug. 9, 2007

Former UTA volleyball All-American Theresa Noggler-Fangman, football all-American Bob Diem, four-time all-Southland Conference track standout Errol Byles and the 1990-92 Maverick men's track and field teams will be inducted into the 2007 University of Texas at Arlington Athletics Hall of Honor.

The induction ceremony banquet will be Sept. 15, 6 p.m., at the Arlington Hilton, 2401 E. Lamar Blvd.

Noggler-Fangman was named first team Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) all-American during the 1981 season. UTA compiled a 174-67 record during Noggler-Fangman's four-years on the stage. In 1978, UTA compiled a 50-10 record and won the AIAW state tournament, finished second in the regional and ninth nationally. The Mavericks finished ranked in the top 10 nationally in three of Noggler's four years (ninth in 1978, eighth in 1979 and sixth in 1981).

A three-year starter and letterman, Diem was a tri-captain and all-American guard off the 1967 Rebel team that finished 10-1, won the SLC championship outright, and defeated North Dakota State 13-0 in the Pecan Bowl to win the NCAA college division national championship. Named first-team all-Texas and all-SLC, Diem anchored the left side of an offensive line that protected the SLC Offensive Player of the Year, quarterback Mike Baylor as UTA led the SLC in passing yards (174.4 ypg). He was named first team American Football Coaches Little All-America, second team Associated Press Little All-American as a senior. His junior season, UTA led the SLC in rushing offense (163.2 yards-per game) and shared the SLC crown with Lamar while compiling a 6-4 overall record. Academically, the Arlington native was named to the honor roll.

Byles won the SLC 400-meter hurdle title four straight seasons from 1994-97. He also claimed the 1997 110-meter hurdle championship with a time of 14.11 seconds and helped the Mavs' win their eighth team title with 162 points.

Byles ranks in UTA's top five all-time in 400-meter hurdles with a time of 50.72.

The 1990-92 men's track and field teams won both the indoor and outdoor team title each year and a cross country championship in 1992. Then-head coach Monte Stratton was named the SLC Coach of the Year seven times. McClinton Neal was a five-time all-American and won the NCAA championship in the 400-meter hurdles in 1990. In all, three individuals and the 1,600-meter relay team of Ronald Hancock, Terrance Carson, Joel McCray, Joseph Sainah and Neal competed at the NCAA Outdoor Championships between 1990-92.

Neal and Sainah earned all-American honors during the 1990 indoor season. Neal finished fourth in the 55-meter hurdles while Sainah was fifth in the 800-meter run.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago