Athletics News

2010 Hall of Honor Class Unveiled

Aug. 20, 2010

Arlington, Texas - Former UT Arlington basketball forward Tracy Burr-Lemonia, tennis standout Christian Jaeger, football defensive back Jim Marcum and the 1998-2001 men's tennis championship teams will be inducted into The University of Texas at Arlington Department of Athletics Hall of Honor, on Sept. 11 at the Arlington Hilton Hotel Grand Ballroom.

Tracy Burr- Lemonia (1985-88) - Women's Basketball
Tracy Burr made an immediate impact on the UT Arlington women's basketball team after she transferred to the school prior to her sophomore year.

She went on to lead her team in scoring in each of her three seasons which includes a school-record mark of 19.6 points per game in 1987-88. Burr scored at least 300 points each season and registered 530 as a senior which is sixth on the school's all-time scoring list.

The 5-9 forward finished her career with 1,316 points which is fifth on UTA's all-time scoring list. She also led her team in rebounding in her final two years and finished her career with 548.

The Ennis, Texas native was a two-time second team All-Southland Conference honoree and ranked among the top 10 scorers in the conference each season she played at UTA.

Christian Jaeger (1995-99) - Men's Tennis
Christian Jaeger was the driving force behind the dominance of the UT Arlington men's tennis teams in the late 1990's and early 2000's.

Jaeger helped lead his team to three Southland Conference championships, two of which were conference tournament titles. During this span he set a conference record by being named the Southland's player of the year three consecutive years. He earned first team all-conference honors in singles and doubles in 1998-99 and was one of only nine players in Southland history to earn all-conference honors three times.

As a senior, Jaeger was named the conference's player of the week three times as he led UTA with an overall singles record of 22-12. He teamed with Andy Leber on the No. 1 doubles team and that tandem went 13-6. During his four years at UTA, Jaeger registered at least 21 wins in singles competition each year.

After four record setting years, Jaeger made the transition to the role of UT Arlington's graduate assistant in the 1999-2000 season.

Jaeger set an example on the court with his strong work ethic and also in the classroom earning academic honors and graduating on time with a bachelor's degree in business administration.

Jim Marcum (1967-69) - Football
Jim Marcum began his football career at UT Arlington in 1967. He quickly made his presence known with his aggressiveness and football instinct. Marcum started in all 11 games, averaging four tackles per game. He registered eight tackles against New Mexico State and a pair of interceptions against Tarleton State and Abilene Christian.

In 1967 as a junior, Marcum led the Rebels with six interceptions and was rated one of the best all-around defensive backs ever coached by Coach Judd Ramsey. Marcum's outstanding performances didn't go unnoticed as he earned All-Southland Conference honorable mention accolades. Marcum also helped UT Arlington to a perfect 4-0 conference mark and a 10-1 overall record which included a 13-0 victory over North Dakota State in the Pecan Bowl.

Marcum once again led the Rebels in pass interceptions as a senior in 1968 with eight and was selected as the most valuable defensive back by his teammates. Marcum's accomplishments continued to roll in as he earned honorable mention All-America honors, was an All-Texas College selection and was voted first team All-Southland Conference. Following that season he was an 11th round selection by the Philadelphia Eagles.

Men's Tennis Southland Conference Championships Teams (1998, 1999, 2000 and 2001)
Four consecutive Southland Conference Tournament championships, three regular season titles and 19 All-Southland Conference selections is what the 1998, 1999, 2000 and 2001 teams accomplished together.

Under the direction of seven-time Southland Conference Coach of the Year Patric DuBois, the teams recorded a 59-35 overall record and a 16-3 Southland Conference mark. The Mavericks dominated their tournament opponents registering six shutout wins, three of which came in the championship.

2010 Hall of Honor inductee Christian Jaeger, who played on the 1998 and 1999 teams, was selected as the Southland Conference Player of the Year in both seasons and guided the Mavericks to a 12-10, 3-1 record and a 15-8, 4-0 mark.

As UT Arlington headed into the new millennium, the 2000 and 2001 teams kept the championship momentum going winning both the regular season and tournament titles. The Mavericks won a school-record 17 matches in 2000.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago