Athletics News

Hall of Honor ceremony set for tomorrow night

Sept. 11, 2009

Arlington, Texas - Family and friends of the UT Arlington department of athletics are preparing to gather tomorrow to induct the four newest members into its Hall of Honor.

This year's inductees are former right-handed pitcher Jeff Burrow, football standout Mike Barnes, javelin All-American Jenny Hockett and former softball player and head coach Rayla Allison. The ceremony will be held at the Arlington Hilton and will start at 6 p.m.

"We are excited about this year's class of inductees into our Hall of Honor," UTA director of athletics Pete Carlon said. "Each of these individuals left a legacy that has not been forgotten and with their induction will not be in the future as well. I know everyone is looking forward to a terrific evening."

Burrow, an Arlington High School graduate ('87), pitched four seasons for the Mavericks (1988-91) and setting career records for wins (27), innings pitched (333.0), complete games (25) and games started (51).

Allison was a catcher and team captain for the Mavericks in 1973-74 and returned to her alma mater in 1984 as the head coach of the softball program.

Barnes was a three-year letterman (1964-66) for the Arlington State Rebels where he led the squad in interceptions in consecutive seasons in 1965 and 1966. He also holds the school record for most career interceptions with 13.

Hockett finished her UTA track and field career being named an All-American in the javelin in 1993 and was twice honored as the Southland Conference Outstanding Field Performer of the Year.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago