Five cross country runners named to all-academic squad

Hannah Nilsson added another accolade to her impressive season.

Jan. 9, 2013

DENVER - Five UT Arlington cross country student-athletes have been named to the Western Athletic Conference's All-Academic teams, the league has announced.

The men's cross country team, which also won the WAC team title, had the most UTA honorees among the fall sports with three. The elite list included seniors Hance Loyd and Eric Montou as well as sophomore Robert Gribble.

The women's cross country team had a pair of all-academic performers in sophomores Sydney Hampton and Hannah Nilsson. Nilsson was previously named to the All-WAC second team during the season.

To be eligible, a student-athlete must have completed at least one academic year at its institution, have at least a 3.0 cumulative grade point average and have participated in at least 50 percent of the team's contests.

UTA Cross Country All-Academic Honorees
Robert Gribble, So. (men's cross country)
Sydney Hampton, So. (women's cross country)
Hance Loyd, Sr. (men's cross country)
Eric Montou, Sr. (men's cross country)
Hannah Nilsson, So. (women's cross country)




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago