BSB: Walker named College Sports Madness All-WAC

Ryan Walker named first-team All-WAC.

Jan. 26, 2013

ARLINGTON, Texas - UT Arlington junior infielder Ryan Walker has been named to College Sports Madness' 2013 Madness WAC Baseball Preseason All-Conference First Team.

Walker is coming off a spectacular sophomore season that earned the Arlington native second-team All-Southland Conference honors. He was the only player on the club to start all 61 games last season, leading the Mavericks in batting average (.360), runs (56), hits (90), and was second on the team in total bases (102). His .417 on-base percentage ranked second on the team, and he topped the SLC in hits and runs scored.

The Mavericks opened the 2013 season against Louisiana Tech on Feb. 15 with a three-game home series at Clay Gould Ballpark.

Madness WAC Preseason All-Conference Teams

Pitcher of the Year: Jeff McKenzie, CSU Bakersfield
Coach of the Year: Dan Heefner, Dallas Baptist
Field Player of the Year: Boomer Collins, Dallas Baptist
Freshman of the Year: Scott Blumer, Sacramento State

First Team
P Adam Mott, New Mexico State
P Jeff McKenzie, CSU Bakersfield
P Dallas Chadwick, Sacramento State
IF Andrew Ayers, Sacramento State
IF Parker Hipp, New Mexico State
IF Ryan Gebhardt, Louisiana Tech
IF Cael Brockmeyer, CSU Bakersfield
IF Ryan Walker, UT Arlington
OF Boomer Collins, Dallas Baptist
OF Justin Higley, Sacramento State
OF Kevin Younger, CSU Bakersfield
UTIL Rhys Hoskins, Sacramento State

Second Team
P Cy Sneed, Dallas Baptist
P Michael Smith, Dallas Baptist
P Taylor Aikenhead, CSU Bakersfield
IF Clay Cederquist, Sacramento State
IF Tanner Rust, New Mexico State
IF Duncan McAlpine, Dallas Baptist
IF Austin Hedges, Louisiana Tech
IF Oscar Sanay, CSU Bakersfield
OF Kyle Phillips, New Mexico State
OF Ronnie Mitchell, Dallas Baptist
OF Nick Schultz, San Jose State
UTIL David Del Grande, Sacramento State




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago