BSB: Mavs earn share of WAC title

May 19, 2013

WAC Tournament Central

QuikTrip Park | Grand Prairie, Texas
No. 2 UTA vs. No. 7 Dallas Baptist, Wednesday, 7 p.m.
No. 2 UTA vs. No. 6 New Mexico State, Friday, 3 p.m.
No. 2 UTA vs. No. 3 Texas State, Saturday, 7 p.m.

WAC Tournament Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

ARLINGTON, Texas - The 2013 UT Arlington baseball team earned a share of the Western Athletic Conference regular-season championship on Sunday. The Mavericks finished their lone season in the WAC with an 18-9 conference record, which tied CSU Bakersfield for the top spot in the league.

UT Arlington (30-25) finished the WAC season on a five-game winning streak, including a weekend sweep of Sacramento State on the road. CSUB lost its final game of the season Sunday at San Jose State, enabling the Mavericks to finish tied for the best record.

"It's unbelievable," UT Arlington coach Darin Thomas said. "It says something about our program to win championships in two difference conferences in two different years. I couldn't be any prouder of our team and the way we're playing at this point in the season."

UT Arlington is the No. 2 seed for the WAC Tournament, with CSUB getting No. 1 seed by virtue of a 2-1 series win over the Mavericks. The Mavericks open pool play against No. 7 Dallas Baptist at 7 p.m. Wednesday at QuikTrip Park in Grand Prairie.

Texas State is the No. 3 seed, followed by UTSA (No. 4), Sacramento State (No. 5), New Mexico State (No. 6), Dallas Baptist (No. 7), and San Jose State (No. 8).

The tournament will begin on Wednesday with No. 4 UTSA taking on No. 5 Sacramento State at 11 a.m. No. 1 CSU Bakersfield will play No. 8 San Jose State at 3 p.m.. UT Arlington and Dallas Baptist meet in the nightcap.

Thomas and the Mavericks won the Southland Conference Tournament Championship in 2012 to reach the NCAA Regionals. UT Arlington is 65-51 under Thomas over the last two seasons.

The regular-season title is only the third in school history. UT Arlington claimed Southland Conference championships in 1990 and 1992 under former coach Butch McBroom.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago