BSB: Shortall semifinalist for Olson Award

Shortall led the Mavs in several offensive categories.

May 26, 2013

OMAHA, Nebraska - UT Arlington junior Matt Shortall is one of the semifinalists for the inaugural Gregg Olson Award, presented by Toolshed Sports. Through hard work, strength of mind and determination these forty-six players have made the list to honor college baseball's "Breakout Player of the Year."

Shortall led the WAC regular-season champions in several offensive categories on the way to his first-team all-WAC selection. A designated hitter for much of the season, Shortall hit .362, good for third in the WAC, and had 54 RBI. Shortall led the team with eight home runs, including three in the team's final series at Sacramento State..

The award is named after former Auburn Tiger star pitcher Gregg Olson, who became one of the top collegiate players in the nation after an initial season filled with only mixed success. Olson went on to become a two-time All American, first round draft pick, American League Rookie of the Year and MLB All Star. Like Olson, these players have elevated their game to an elite level and in many instances their team has mirrored their success as a direct result.

Initial nominations were made by sports information/gmedia contacts and the semifinalists were determined by made by an independent panel. A list of finalists is scheduled to be announced on Monday, June 3rd in conjunction with the conclusion of NCAA Regional play. The winner of the 2013 Gregg Olson Award will be named in Omaha, Nebraska during the College World Series which is to be held this season at TD Ameritrade Park from June 15-June 25/26. 2013

(For more information on the candidates visit or

Aguilar, Gabe New Mexico
Anderson, Eli Northern Illinois
Baker, Scott Ball State
Belicek, Trevor Texas A&M Corpus Christi
Borden, Buddy UNLV
Boulware, Garrett Clemson
Burke, Devin Virginia Tech
Carroll, Chad James Madison
Connolly, Mike Maine
Dempsey, Trace Ohio State
Diaz, Christian Miami FL
Doane, Kerry East Tennessee State
Durdaller, Christiaan Samford
Falcone, Joey Columbia
Fisher, Austin Kansas State
Ford, Mike Princeton
Fowler, Chase Southern Miss
Graham, Brent Campbell
Grogg, Tyler Toledo
Hagen, Sean Eastern Kentucky
Homick, Max San Diego
Huck, Ryan Western Kentucky
Jackson, Joe The Citadel
Keele, Ryan Nebraska-Omaha
LaGrange, Ryan UNC Wilmington
Lecount, Bobby New Mexico State
Masek, Trey Texas Tech
McKenzie, Jeff CSU Bakersfield
Musgrave, Harrison West Virginia
Papi, Mike Virginia
Parr, Justin Illinois
Perez, Austin Stetson
Peter, Jake Creighton
Peterson, Brandon Wichita State
Prain, Chad Georgia State
Pruitt, Austin Houston
Renner, Michael North Florida
Shelinsky Jr., Steven Pitt
Shortall, Matt UT Arlington
Sitz, Scott Florida Sate
Sparks, Taylor UC Irvine
Stubbs, Cody North Carolina
Suchy, Michael Florida Gulf Coast
Tauchman, Mike Bradley
Thompson, Ryan Campbell
Verlander, Ben Old Dominion




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago