BSB: Will Olson Named Academic All-America

June 2, 2017

ARLINGTON, Texas -- Sporting a 3.92 cumulative GPA as a economics and finance double major, UTA sophomore catcher Will Olson has been named third-team Academic All-America, it was announced on Friday afternoon by the College Sports Information Directors Association.

A native of Sherman, Texas, Olson becomes UTA's first baseball Academic All-America honoree in 20 years, dating back to B.G. Wilson earning third-team accolades in 1996. UTA's athletics department has had 14 all-time CoSIDA Academic All-Americans, with Olson the first since track's Erik Petereson in 2004. Olson is the sixth UTA baseball standout to earn Academic All-America honors.

A second-team All-Sun Belt Conference selection, Olson had a prolific 2017 season as UTA's everyday backstop, hitting .322 (56-for-174) with nine doubles, two homers and 28 RBI. Olson had a .439 on-base percentage, with 27 walks and 24 strikeouts, stealing two bases. He threw out eight basestealers, while making 39 of UTA's 55 starts behind the plate. In his two-year career, Olson has hit .290 with a .401 on-base percentage.

Olson helped lead the Mavs to a historic 2017 season, which saw UTA win a program record 20 games in Sun Belt play to claim the Western Division. Darin Thomas earned Sun Belt Coach of the Year honors, with Olson one of five UTA standouts to earn all-league honors. In addition, the Mavs posted a school-record 3.18 team GPA during the fall semester. 

Olson was one of three catchers on the list and was the one of three Sun Belt Conference standouts to earn the honor, joining Georgia State infielder Justin Jones (4.08 GPA) and Louisiana reliever Dylan Moore (4.00 GPA).

UTA All-Time CoSIDA Academic All-America Selections
1976 - Bruce Marshall, Baseball, P, 2nd team
1980 - Richard Valenta, Baseball, C, 2nd team
1980 - Greg Wright, Football, DB, 2nd team
1986 - Brenda Woodard, Softball, OF, HM
1995 - B.G. Wilson, Baseball, IF, 2nd team
1996 - John Karant, Baseball, C, 3rd team
1996 - B.G. Wilson, Baseball, IF, 3rd team
1997 - Scott Cross, Men's Basketball, G, 3rd team
1998 - Scott Cross, Men's Basketball, G, 2nd team
1999 - Lisa Verheul, Softball, OF, 1st team
2000 - Lisa Verheul, Softball, OF, 2nd team
2004 - David Corrie, Men's At-Large, 1st team
2004 - Erik Petereson, Men's Track/Cross Country, 1st team
2016 - Will Olson, Baseball, 3rd team




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago