BSB: Shortall, Bottger named All-Central Region

June 17, 2014

2014 All-Central Region Get Acrobat Reader

JONESBORO, Arkansas – UT Arlington designated hitter Matt Shortall and outfielder Ryan Bottger were named to the 2014 All-Central Region baseball team, as announced by the American Baseball Coaches Association. The team featured 26 student-athletes across four conferences.

Louisiana-Lafayette's Jace Conrad led the first-team with 29 first-team votes and 300 total points in the voting process. He was joined on the first-team by teammates Blake Trahan and Caleb Adams who were named as the region's top shortstop and outfielder respectfully. Adams was a first-team selection in 2013 as a designated hitter.

Other first-team selections included Sam Houston State's Anthony Azar at catcher, while Houston's Casey Grayson was tabbed as the team's first baseman. Azar was chosen as the region's second-team catcher in 2013.

Brandon Tierney from Texas A&M Corpus Christy received 13 first-place votes and took home first-team honors at third base, while Shortall was named to the first team after taking home 210 points.

Joining Adams in the outfield was Central Arkansas' Doug Votolato and Southland Newcomer of the Year Andrew Godbold of Southeastern Louisiana who each tied with 180 points in the vote. Votolato is the second straight UCA outfielder to earn first-team honors after Forrest Allday got the region's most votes in the outfield last year.

Rice's Blake Fox garnered the second most points in the process with 230 to take home the top starting pitching spot, while Southeastern Louisiana's Andro Cutura and Florida International's Mike Franco was also named first-team picker. Houston's Chase Wellbrock earned first-team honors as a relief pitcher.

The second team is comprised of Bottger, Aramis Garcia (C, FIU), Trent Miller (1B, Middle Tennessee), Julio Nunez (2B, Alabama A&M), Ryan Leonards (3B, Louisiana-Lafayette), Sam Bumpers (SS, Lamar), Waldyvan Eastrada (DH, Alabama State), Andrew Uttberback (OF, Alabama A&M), Seth Harrison (OF, Louisiana-Lafayette), Zac Curtis (SP, Middle Tennessee), Austin Robichaux (SP, Louisiana-Lafayette), Carson Baranik (SP, Louisiana-Lafayette) and Tyler Ford (RP, Houston).

First-team selections will be considered as candidates for the ABCA All-America, which will be announced later this month.

For more information log on to the ABCA's website at




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago