Boydston and Walker were named to the SLC All-Academic team

Adam Boydston (above) and Ryan Walker were named to the SLC All-Academic first-team.

June 20, 2012

FRISCO, Texas – UT Arlington baseball teammates Adam Boydston and Ryan Walker were named to the Southland Conference All-Academic first teams, the league office announced Wednesday.


Boydston, a senior pitcher from Corinth, Texas, posted a 3.96 GPA. He's a history major with a pre-law minor. Walker, a sophomore shortstop from Arlington, has 3.39 GPA and is majoring in psychology.


Sam Houston State senior Jake Arrington has been named the SLC Baseball Student-Athlete of the Year.  Arrington, a native of Gunter, Texas (Gunter), is a kinesiology major with a 3.71 grade-point average. He is the second Sam Houston State player to be selected as the baseball student-athlete of the year, joining Luke Prihoda in 2007. Arrington made the President’s List for a perfect 4.0 GPA in the 2011 fall and 2012 spring semesters. While minoring in health, Arrington has also been earned numerous Dean’s List honors.




A third-team all-conference outfielder, Arrington led the NCAA in 2012 with 10 triples, which broke a 51-year-old school record. Arrington started 57 games in right field for the regular-season champion Bearkats. He was one of five Bearkat starters to hit .300 on the season while leading the team with 13 multiple-RBI games. On the season, Arrington batted .300 with eight doubles, 10 triples and three home runs. He also knocked in 37 runs while scoring 33 times himself. Arrington was named to the NCAA all-regional team in Houston, where the Bearkats lost to Arkansas in the championship game.


Seven student-athletes make a return appearance to the all-academic teams, including Texas State seniors Jeff McVaney and Tyler Sibley, Stephen F. Austin senior Jarid Scarafiotti and Southeastern Louisiana senior Cody Gougler, who are all three-time selections. Two-time members of the all-academic teams include Northwestern State senior Drew Helenihi, Boydston and Central Arkansas senior Blake Roberts.


A total of six student-athletes were automatically named to the conference all-academic teams by virtue of being either a first-team all-conference selection or voted to the CoSIDA academic all-district team.


The league placed three student-athletes on the CoSIDA academic all-district team. Southeastern Louisiana junior Jordan Hymel earned a spot on the All-District VI team while Texas State seniors Sibley and Casey Kalenkosky were named to the All-District VII team. McVaney, Granger and Southeastern Louisiana senior Jonathan Pace earned their spot on the team after picking up first-team all-conference honors.


Four schools each placed three members on the all-academic teams, including Lamar, Northwestern State, Southeastern Louisiana and Texas State. Central Arkansas, Nicholls State, Sam Houston State, Stephen F. Austin and UT Arlington each placed two while McNeese State and UTSA both had one selection.


Established in the 2002-03 academic year, the conference honors one student-athlete from each of the 17 championship sports who achieves excellence in academics, athletics and community/campus service.


The student-athlete of the year, selected by the league's awards committee, must have attained athletics achievement for at least two years at the nominating institution, possess at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and demonstrate extracurricular service at his campus and or community.


The all-academic teams are voted on by the head coaches, sports information directors and academic/compliance administrators from each Southland university. Student-athletes must possess a 3.0 cumulative GPA, have completed one full academic year at the nominating institution and participated in at least 50 percent of the team's competition to qualify for the all-academic squad.


Complete All-Academic teams are available at the Southland Conference website.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago