Otteman Collects Hardware at Texas Rangers Game

Sept. 2, 2009

ARLINGTON, Texas - UT Arlington standout Matt Otteman received the 2009 Howard Green SABR Metroplex Collegiate Player of the Year award on Wednesday night at Rangers Ballpark in Arlington before the Texas Rangers hosted the Toronto Blue Jays.

Otteman, alongside UT Arlington head baseball coach Darin Thomas, was presented with the award by SABR president Paul Rogers and SABR awards committee members Bo Carter and Jay Langhammer.

Otteman returned to the Metroplex a day before receiving the award, just after helping lead his professional team to the Arizona Rookie League championship. Otteman, who signed a free agent contract with the Seattle Mariners as a right-handed pitcher on June 25, pitched in 16 games and recorded a 1.88 ERA with 28 strikeouts and just five walks in 24.0 innings pitched.

The starting right fielder/designated hitter and right-handed pitcher, Otteman had a season to remember in 2009 for the Mavericks. He posted a .432 batting average, which led the Southland Conference and ranks second in UTA history, with a league-best eight triples and nine home runs. His 69 RBI tied a school record while his 95 base hits ranks second in UTA history.

He was a second team Ping! All-American and was a first team South Central All-Region and All-Southland Conference selection. Otteman put together the longest hitting streak in the NCAA to start the season with a 26-game streak, which at the time tied the UTA school record.

Otteman's most impressive statistics came at the plate, but his pitching ability is what lured him to professional scouts. His 3-1 record came in 10 appearances with two starts and he recorded a 3.38 ERA in 24.0 innings pitched. He notched 14.2 strikeouts/9 innings with 38 strikeouts and 15 walks allowed.

Otteman is just the second UT Arlington player to be awarded the Howard Green SABR Metroplex Collegiate Player of the Year as he follows in the footsteps of Hunter Pence, who currently plays right field for the Houston Astros and received the award following the 2004 season.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago