MBB: McClanahan earns All-Sun Belt second-team honors

McClanahan has averaged a team-high 11.6 points.
March 10, 2015

By Art Garcia | @ArtGarcia92

ARLINGTON, Texas - UT Arlington senior guard Lonnie McClanahan earned All-Sun Belt Conference second-team honors for the 2014-15 season, the league office announced Tuesday.

"Lonnie is very deserving of this award," UT Arlington coach Scott Cross said. "He's the fastest player north and south that I've ever coached. He's done a great job of getting to the basket and finishing, and also does a great job of creating offense for our basketball team. I'm just happy that he got the recognition he deserved."

McClanahan improved as the season went on, finishing his senior campaign playing the best basketball of his career. The Mavericks leading scorer over the course of the season and in conference play has averaged 14.3 points, 3.5 rebounds, 4.5 assists and 1.4 steals since Jan. 24. He's also shot 50 percent from the floor during that span and 74.4 percent at the line. McClanahan, a preseason first-team All-Sun Belt selection, started the last 17 conference games.

The former Kilgore College product scored in double figures in 14 of 20 league contests, including a double-double (18 points and 12 assists) on Feb. 28 against UALR. In Sun Belt Conference games, McClanahan was 15th in scoring (12.4), ninth in field-goal percentage (47.4), sixth in assists (3.5) and 15th in free-throw percentage (74.6).

McClanahan and the Mavericks begin play in the Sun Belt Championship against Texas State on Thursday at 5 p.m.

Georgia State junior R.J. Hunter became just the fourth student-athlete in Sun Belt Conference men's basketball history to earn back-to-back Player of the Year awards, while UL Monroe head coach Keith Richard became the sixth head coach all-time to earn multiple Sun Belt Coach of the Year awards.

The individual awards and all-conference teams were released following a vote by the league's head coaches and a selected media panel.

Georgia Southern senior guard Jelani Hewitt earned the Defensive Player of the Year award, while Troy guard Wesley Person earned the Freshman of the Year honor. Hewitt led the Eagles to a second place finish in their first year of Sun Belt Conference play, while Person is the first student-athlete at Troy to win the Sun Belt Men's Basketball Freshman of the Year award.

Sun Belt Honors
First Team All-Conference
Jelani Hewitt (Georgia Southern, Sr., Guard)
Ryan Harrow (Georgia State, R-Sr., Guard)
R.J. Hunter (Georgia State, Jr., Guard)
Shawn Long (UL Lafayette, Jr., Forward)
Tylor Ongwae (UL Monroe, Sr., Forward)

Second Team All-Conference
Frank Eaves (Appalachian State, Jr., Guard)
Anthony Livingston (Arkansas State, So., Forward)
Ken Williams (South Alabama, So., Guard)
Lonnie McClanahan (UT Arlington, Sr., Guard)
Emani Gant (Texas State, Jr., Forward)

Third Team All-Conference
Josh Hagins (UALR, Jr., Guard)
Trent Wiedeman (Georgia Southern, Sr., Center)
Jay Wright (UL Lafayette, So., Guard)
Majok Deng (UL Monroe, Jr., Forward)
Wesley Person (Troy, Fr., Guard)

Player of the Year
R.J. Hunter (Georgia State, Jr., Guard)

Defensive Player of the Year
Jelani Hewitt (Georgia Southern, Sr., Guard)

Freshman of the Year
Wesley Person (Troy, Fr., Guard)

Joe Gottfried Coach of the Year
Keith Richard (UL Monroe, 5th Season)




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago