MBB: Scott Cross is a Hugh Durham National COY finalist / District 23 COY

Scott Cross is a Hugh Durham National Coach of the Year finalist.

March 21, 2012

BOSTON - The twenty-one finalists for the 2012 Hugh Durham National Coach of the Year are: Tommy Amaker (Harvard), Randy Bennett (Saint Mary's), Tim Cluess (Iona), Bryce Drew (Valparaiso), Bruiser Flint (Drexel), Gregg Marshall (Wichita State), Greg McDermott (Creighton), Dan Monson (Long Beach State), Steve Prohm (Murray State) and Shaka Smart (VCU).

"That's a pretty impressive list of coaches," said longtime Georgia and Jacksonville coach Hugh Durham. "This season it seemed as though there were so many coaches that did outstanding jobs. There are a lot of wins on that list of finalists."

The Hugh Durham Award is given annually to the nation's top mid-major coach. In 2005 the CollegeInsider.com Mid-Major Coach of the Year award was renamed in honor of Hugh Durham, the coaching legend who had retired at the end of the 2004-05 season. Durham is one of just twelve coaches to have led two different programs to the NCAA Final Four (Florida State in 1972 and Georgia in 1983). He is the only coach among that group to have led both schools to their lone Final Four appearance.

The winner will be announced at the CollegeInsider.com awards banquet on March 30 in New Orleans, site of the men's NCAA Basketball Championship.


Tommy Amaker Harvard
Rod Barnes Cal State Bakersfield
Randy Bennett Saint Mary's
Horace Broadnax Savannah State
Tim Clues Iona
John Cooper Tennessee State
Scott Cross UT-Arlington
Kermit Davis Middle Tennessee State
Bryce Drew Valparaiso
Bruiser Flint Drexel
Gregg Marshall Wichita State
Steve Masiello Manhattan
Greg McDermott Creighton
Dan Monson Long Beach State
Scott Nagy South Dakota State
Eddie Payne USC Upstate
Steve Prohm Murray State
Joe Scott Denver
Shaka Smart VCU
Scott Sutton Oral Roberts
Sean Woods

Mississippi Valley State

National Association of Basketball Coaches Announce

2012 Division I All-District Coaches

KANSAS CITY, MO. (March 21, 2012) -- The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced the 2012 NABC Division I All-District coaches, selected by their peers.


District 1:     Jimmy Patsos, Loyola (MD)                   Co-District 14:   Keith Dambrot, Akron

District 2:    Leonard Hamilton, Florida State             Co-District 14:    Rob Murphy, Eastern Michigan

District 3:    Rick Byrd, Belmont                               District 15:  Horace Broadnax, Savannah State

District 4:    Fran Dunphy, Temple                           District 16:  Gregg Marshall, Wichita State

District 5:    Mike Brey, Notre Dame                         District 17:  Steve Fisher, San Diego State

District 6:     Wayne Tinkle, Montana                        Co-District 18: Jim Ferry, Long Island

District 7:    Tom Izzo, Michigan State                     Co-District 18: Glenn Braica, St. Francis (NY)

District 8:     Frank Haith, Missouri                           Co-District 18: Andrew Toole, Robert Morris

District 9:     Dan Monson, Long Beach State             District 19:  Steve Prohm, Murray State

District 10:  Bruiser Flint, Drexel                             District 20:  Tad Boyle, Colorado

District 11:  Larry Eustachy, Southern Mississippi      District 21:  John Calipari, Kentucky

District 12: Scott Nagy, South Dakota State              District 22:  Mike Young, Wofford

District 13: Tommy Amaker, Harvard                     District 23:  Scott Cross, UT Arlington

District 24:  Kermit Davis, Middle Tennessee State




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago