MBB: Vereen wins NBA D-League championship

Vereen cuts down the net after the win.
April 27, 2015

San Cruz wins D-League title

By Art Garcia | @ArtGarcia92

Former UT Arlington standout Anthony Vereen is part of the NBA D-League champion Santa Cruz Warriors, who claimed the title with Sunday night's win over the Fort Wayne Mad Ants.

The victory wraps up a 2-0 sweep for Santa Cruz, which rebounded from their previous two trips to the NBA D-League Finals. The Warriors were swept in 2013 and 2014 by the Rio Grande Valley Vipers and Fort Wayne, respectively.

Vereen completed his first season with Santa Cruz after previous D-League stints with the Texas Legends and Tulsa 66ers. He has also played with various clubs overseas.

Vereen capped an impressive career at UTA by being named to the All-Southland Conference first team in 2009. Vereen finished the season as the second-leading scorer in the conference at 17.7 per game, and ranked among the top 10 in the league in field goal percentage and rebounding.

Vereen also led the Mavericks to their first NCAA Tournament appearance as the Southland champions in 2008. He was the Southland Conference Tournament MVP that season. The Mavericks faced Memphis in the first round. 




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago