MG: Mavs ready for WAC Championships

April 28, 2013

Club Glove WAC Men's Golf Championship

Rio Secco Golf Club
Henderson, Nevada (Louisiana Tech University-host)
April 29-May 1


HENDERSON, Nevada – The 51st annual Club Glove Western Athletic Conference men's golf championship opens Monday and runs through Wednesday at the 7,313-yard, par-72 Rio Secco Golf Club. San Jose State won last year with a six-stroke victory over four-time defending champion New Mexico State.

UT Arlington is competing in the WAC championship for the first and last time. The Mavericks check in at 93rd in the last Golfstat Team rankings, which is the highest team ranking in the WAC.

"If we can eliminate the big numbers, we will shoot good team scores and we'll have a chance to win the WAC Championships," UT Arlington coach Jay Rees said. "We can make our year with a great week here. We also need to be the best mental team this week. That will be worth a lot of shots in the end."

Paul McConnell, Hunter Brown, Riley Fleming, Brad Mason and Cash Wilkerson make up the five-man team for UT Arlington. McConnell, Brown and Fleming are each among the top 11 in the WAC Golfstat individual ratings.

Newcomer Denver led the WAC in scoring average with 291.8 strokes per round with San Jose State in second (292.4). Last year's second place finisher Justin Shin of New Mexico State returns and is third in the WAC in stroke average with 72.80 per round. Denver's Ole Ramsnes leads the WAC in that category (72.41).

Five individuals from the WAC have claimed titles this year: Idaho's Gordon Webb, Louisiana Tech's Travis Wilmore and Victor Lange, Texas State's Torbjorn Johansen and Utah State's Tanner Higham.

Denver Pioneers
Idaho Vandals
Louisiana Tech Bulldogs
New Mexico State Aggies
San Jose State Spartans
Seattle Redhawks
UT Arlington Mavericks
UTSA Roadrunners
Texas State Bobcats
Utah State Aggies




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago