Golfers earn All-Southland Conference Honors

Wes Worster was named the Southland Conference's Newcomer of the Year.

May 3, 2010

Arlington, Texas - Zack Fischer was named to the Southland Conference's first team and Wes Worster was named the Newcomer of the Year in the annual announcment of the conference's all-conference golf teams Monday.

They were not the only ones to be honored as Bryce Easton earned second team accolades while Worster and Hunter Brown were named to the honorable mention team.

Fischer was named to the five-man all-conference first team for the first time in his career. Fischer was a second-team selection last season and had the conference's second-best stroke average this season at 72.18. He tied for 29th at this year's Southland tournament, but had nine top-20 finishes. His tournament win came in November at the Carter Plantation Intercollegiate.

Easton was a second-team selection after finishing strong with a win at the Jim West Intercollegiate and then was the top UTA player at the Southland Conference Tournament last week as he finished in a tie for ninth. He was an honorable mention selection last season.

Worster was selected the conference's newcomer of the year. After transferring to UT Arlington from Lon Morris Junior College prior to the season, A native of Durban, South Africa, he had a scoring average of 74.81 strokes. In 32 rounds in 11 tournaments, he had one top-five finish to go with another top-10 finish and two others in the top 20. Worster tied for 31st at the conference tournament last week. The Mavericks finished fifth as a team.

Brown finished his freshman season with a 74.60 stroke average and had two top 10 finishes.

2009-10 Men's Golf All-Southland Conference Selections

First Team School Class Hometown

Alvaro Arizabaleta Southeastern Louisiana Fr. Cali, Columbia

Philipp Westermann Southeastern Louisiana Fr. Pinneburg, Germany



Gideon Pienaar Central Arkansas Jr. Pongola, South Africa

Cedric Scotto Southeastern Louisiana Jr. Albi, France

Zack Fischer UT Arlington Jr. Texarkana, Texas

Second Team School Class Hometown

Steven Lecuyer Central Arkansas Jr. Edmonton, Alberta

Scott Kelly Sam Houston State Jr. Kingwood, Texas

Pierre-Alexis Rolland Lamar Fr. Wauvre, Belgium

Fergal Rafferty Sam Houston State Sr. Carrickmore, Northern Ireland

Bryce Easton UT Arlington Sr. Durban, South Africa

Third Team School Class Hometown

Kyle Robbins Stephen F. Austin Jr. Southlake, Texas

Hugues Joannes Lamar Sr. Brussels, Belgium

Antonio Costa Central Arkansas So. Villa Rucahue, Chile

Josh Sims Central Arkansas So. Wirral, England

Michael Carnes Texas State Sr. New Braunfels, Texas

Honorable Mention: Emiliano Martinez, UTSA; Hunter Brown, UT Arlington; Wes Worster, UT Arlington; Jad Sinclair, Central Arkansas; Nicko Dodd, UTSA.

Player of the Year: Alvaro Arizabaleta, Southeastern Louisiana

Newcomer of the Year: Wes Worster, UT Arlington

Freshman of the Year: Philipp Westermann, Southeastern Louisiana

Coach of the Year: Tim Baldwin, Southeastern Louisiana


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago