MG: Incoming UTA golfer qualifies for Jr PGA Championship

June 13, 2018

Final Sectional Results | Junior PGA Championships Website

SPRING, Texas -- Incoming UT Arlington freshman Zakary Jones fired a 2-under par 143 to claim medalist honors at the Southern Texas Jr PGA Championship Tuesday at Augusta Pines Golf Club.

The victory provides the recent Klein Collins High School graduate with automatic qualification for the 43rd Boys Junior PGA Championship, scheduled for July 31 – August 3 at Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville, Ky.

Jones led the 94-golfer field after the Monday’s first round after turning in a 1-over par 73 on the 6,899-yard course. In yesterday’s final round, he opened the day at 2-under after five holes but found some trouble toward the end of the front nine. He fell to 3-over after a double bogey on No. 11.

The 2018 Greater Houston City Junior Match Play Championship medalist found his stroke at the right time, making a late charge with birdies on five of his last six holes to finish at 2-under par 70.

He claimed a 3-stroke victory over Austin’s Thomas Bockholt. Both golfers advanced from the Southern Texas Section into the field at the Junior PGA Championship.

Begun in 1976, at Walt Disney World Resort in Orlando, Fla., the Junior PGA Championship has been a popular stop on the national junior circuit for many of today’s PGA and LPGA touring professionals.

Past Junior PGA Championship competitors who have gone on to successful professional careers include: Billy Andrade, Kathy Baker, Brandie Burton, Stewart Cink, Chris Couch, Jim Gallagher Jr., Trevor Immelman, Cristie Kerr, Justin Leonard, Billy Mayfair, Michelle McGann, Phil Mickelson, Sean O’Hair, Grace Park, InBee Park, Dottie Pepper, Stacy Prammanasudh, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Lexi Thompson, Scott Verplank, Michelle Wie and Tiger Woods.



The tournament, which includes a 144-golfer field of golfers no older than 18 years of age, features a 72-hole, stroke play format with a cut after 36 holes to the low 70 plus ties. In the event of a tie after 72 holes, there will be a hole-by-hole playoff. The medalist is awarded the Jack Nicklaus Trophy.

For up-to-date news, photos, videos and updates you can follow UTA sports program online at or via any of several social media accounts on twitter @UTAMavs, Instagram @UTAMavs, Snapchat @UTAMavs and Facebook at UTArlingtonAthletics. Follow UTA golf on Twitter @UTAMavsGolf and Instagram @UTA_womensgolf and @uta_mensgolf.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago