<B>Nathan McGregor</B>
Nathan McGregor

March 28, 2003

ARLINGTON, Texas...Just hours after walking off the court having earned a share of the Southland Conference regular season championship, The University of Texas at Arlington's men's tennis team walked off the court with their second victory of the afternoon, having defeated Oral Roberts University 7-0 in a non-conference match Friday afternoon at the UTA Tennis Center in Arlington. Texas-Arlington improved to 9-5 overall with the win.

UTA's top two doubles teams picked up victories to give the Mavericks the doubles point and a 1-0 advantage. The Mavericks' top team of Nathan McGregor and Sandy Farquharson defeated ORU's Jared Welch and Matt Munson 9-7. On the No. 2 court, UTA's David Corrie and Niels Buksik won over the Golden Eagles' Chris Moore and Wessell Kemp. ORU won the match on the No. 3 court, as Kevin Garlington and Eddie Paez handed UTA's Ian Vazquez and Alon Goldshuv an 8-5 loss.

The Mavericks swept the singles matches, with only the No. 1 match going more than the minimum two sets. In that match, McGregor won the first set 6-3, but lost the second set 6-2. Suffering from pain in his legs, McGregor was able to hold on and win the final pro set 10-8. On court two, Corrie defeated Moore 6-1, 6-3; Buksik defeated Paez 6-1, 6-1 at No. 3; Farquharson handed Garlington a 6-1, 6-3 loss at No. 4; Vazquez beat Munson 6-3, 6-2 at No. 5; and Goldshuv defeated Kemp 6-2, 6-4 in the sixth position.

Earlier in the day, Texas-Arlington defeated Texas-San Antonio 4-3 in an emotional match that gave the Mavericks at least a share of the SLC regular season crown. UTA can win the title outright if it defeats Texas-Pan American, who is a member of the SLC in men's tennis only, in UTA's next match. That match is this Sunday at 10 a.m. at the UTA Tennis Center. Admission is free.



1. Nathan McGregor (UTA) def. Jared Welch (ORU) 6-3, 2-6, 10-8
2. David Corrie (UTA) def. Chris Moore (ORU) 6-1, 6-3
3. Niels Buksik (UTA) def. Eddie Paez (ORU) 6-1, 6-1
4. Sandy Farquharson (UTA) def. Kevin Garlington (ORU) 6-1, 6-3
5. Ian Vazquez (UTA) def. Matt Munson (ORU) 6-3, 6-2
6. Alon Goldshuv (UTA) def. Wessell Kemp (ORU) 6-2, 6-4

1. McGregor/Farquharson (UTA) def. Welch/Munson (ORU) 9-7
2. Corrie/Buksik (UTA) def. Moore/Kemp (ORU) 8-6
3. Garlington/Paez (ORU) Goldshuv/Vazquez (UTA) 8-5



at the Official Online Store