<B>Sandy Farquharson</B>
Sandy Farquharson

April 24, 2003

ARLINGTON, Texas...The University of Texas at Arlington's men's tennis team placed a total of seven student-athletes on the 2003 All-Southland Conference team, led by freshman Sandy Farquharson, who was named to the first team in the No. 5 singles position, and the doubles team of Javier Carrillo and Alon Goldshuv, who earned first team honors in the No. 3 doubles slot. In addition, UTA's Nathan McGregor was named SLC Newcomer of the Year.

Farquharson owns a 15-10 overall singles record, and won all four of the singles matches that he played against SLC opponents. He was 9-4 overall playing in the No. 5 position for the Mavericks. Carrillo and Goldshuv teamed to put together a 4-1 record at the No. 3 doubles position in SLC matches.

The award marks the second time both Goldshuv and Carrillo have won first team doubles honors at the third position. Goldshuv, a senior from Ramat-Hasharon, Israel, earned the award alongside teammate Tom Zarzeczny as a freshman in 2000, while Carrillo, a senior from Beaumont, and Ola Bentzen earned first team honors at No. 3 doubles last year. The award also marks the fourth straight year that Goldshuv has appeared on the All-SLC team. Along with his doubles awards in 2000 and 2003, Goldshuv earned first team All-SLC at No. 6 singles in each of his first three years. Goldshuv becomes just the fourth player in SLC history to earn first-team All-SLC honors in each of his four years, joining former teammates Zarzeczny (1999-2002) and Andy Leber (1999-2002), and Louisiana-Monroe's Jon Treml (1983-86).

Nathan McGregor was named SLC Newcomer of the Year

The Mavericks claimed four of the six second team spots, led by McGregor, who became the school's second straight SLC Men's Tennis Newcomer of the Year after Carrillo won the award last season. McGregor, who transferred to UTA this year from Baylor, was 3-2 against conference opponents, and is 12-15 overall in singles play. He earned the second team award at No. 1 singles. David Corrie earned second team honors at No. 2 singles after putting together a 4-1 record in conference play and a 12-14 overall record. Of Corrie's 14 losses, six came at the hands of nationally ranked players. Corrie's best outing came when he defeated No. 39 Oscar Chow of Columbia in straight sets. To go along with his doubles honor alongside Goldshuv, Carrillo was named to the second team in the No. 3 singles spot after putting together a 4-1 mark in SLC play and a 16-13 overall singles record. Finally, Ian Vazques claimed All-SLC second team honors at No. 6 singles after winning four of his five singles matches against conference opponents and going 19-12 overall in singles play.

In doubles action, the team of Corrie and freshman Niels Buksik was also named to the All-SLC second team after teaming up to go 16-7 overall and 4-1 in conference matches.

The Mavericks won the SLC regular season championship in 2003 for the sixth time in the past nine years, and will host the SLC Tournament this Friday, Saturday and Sunday at the UTA Tennis Center. The Mavericks' first match will take place in the semifinals against either fourth-seeded Texas-Pan American or fifth-seeded Lamar Saturday at 9:30 a.m. The tournament champion will earn the SLC's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.




at the Official Online Store