YauheniYakauleu NamedMen's Tennis Student-Athlete of the Year

David Subirats was named first-team all-academic

May 23, 2012

FRISCO, Texas – UT Arlington junior Yauheni Yakauleu has been named the 2012 Southland Conference Men’s Tennis Student-Athlete of the Year, the league office announced Wednesday in conjunction with the release of the Men’s All-Academic Tennis Teams.

A first-team all-conference member, Yakauleu posted a 3.61 GPA in information systems while going 5-0 in conference at No. 3 singles. The Minsk, Belarus, native also partnered with David Subirats to earn first-team all-conference at the No. 2 doubles position with a 4-1 conference record and 12-6 overall mark. Yakauleu, a two-time all-academic honoree, joins David Corrie (2003, 2004) as the only Mavericks to earn student-athlete of the year honors.

Subirats, also a first-team all-academic selection, earned a 3.34 GPA in interdisciplinary studies. The senior from Barcelona, Spain, went 11-10 in singles play this year with a 3-2 conference record at No. 5.

UTSA and Texas A&M-Corpus Christi each claimed four student-athletes on the all-academic teams. The Roadrunners named three student-athletes to the first team, including sophomore Yannick Junger and seniors Daniel Moser and Pedro Zanotelli. Junger, a sophomore from Stuttgart, Germany, posted a 3.37 GPA in business while earning first-team all-conference honors at No. 1 doubles with Zanotelli. The duo went undefeated in conference play and recorded a 14-7 overall record. Zanotelli, a native of Fortaleza, Brazil, posted a 3.02 GPA in business.

Moser, a two-time first-team all-conference selection, earned a 3.21 GPA in psychology to go with a 4-0 conference record at No. 6 singles (0-1 at No. 5). The senior from Texarkana, Texas, posted a 13-10 overall record in singles. Rounding out UTSA’s all-academic selections is junior Tyler Brown. Brown earned second-team all-conference this season behind a 3-1 record at No. 2 doubles while posting a 3.58 GPA in political science. The New Braunfels, Texas, native was named student-athlete of the year last season and has been named to the all-academic team for two consecutive years.



Texas A&M-Corpus Christi junior Aurelien Tave was the lone Islander named to the first team, with Nathan Robinson, Matt Westmoreland and Gergo Weidinger all earning second-team honors. Tave, a junior from St. Gilles les Bains, Reunion Island, posted a 3.31 GPA in health science this year to go with a second-team all-conference performance at No. 1 singles and doubles. Tave went undefeated in conference singles, playing at both the No. 1 and No. 2 positions this season and teamed up with Peter Nagy for a 3-1 conference record at No. 1 doubles.

Robinson’s GPA of 3.96 in finance and economics is the highest among all all-academic honorees. The senior from Abilene, Texas, went 10-7 this season in singles play, helping the Islanders to their fifth consecutive regular-season title. Westmoreland went 4-1 in conference singles this season to earn second-team all-conference honors. The sophomore from Oahu, Hawaii, also posted a 3.40 record in kinesiology while Weidinger, a sophomore from Budapest, Hungary, posted a 3.84 GPA in finance.

Rounding out the all-academic team honorees was Lamar senior Carlos Valdenebro and Texas Pan-American senior Beau Bernstein. Valdenebro, a Sevilla, Spain, native, posted a 3.37 GPA in mechanical engineering and was named first-team all-conference after an undefeated conference season at No. 4 singles. Bernstein, a native of Sugarland, Texas, is a three-time all-academic honoree and posted a 3.63 GPA in anthropology.

The Southland Conference awards committee, which consists of one administrator from each of the 12 member schools, voted for the student-athlete of the year. The student-athlete of the year award is presented to the one male and one female student-athlete who achieve excellence in both academics and athletics. All nominees shall have earned at least a 3.2 GPA on a 4.0 scale and demonstrated achievement in athletics for at least two years at the nominating institution.

The all-academic teams are voted on by the head coaches, sports information directors and academic/compliance administrators from each Southland university. Student-athletes must possess a 3.0 cumulative GPA, have completed one full academic year at the nominating institution and participated in at least 50 percent of the team’s competition to qualify for the all-academic squad. Student-athletes earn automatic qualification onto the Southland Conference All-Academic Team if they maintain a GPA of 3.0 and were also named first-team All-Southland Conference and/or the CoSIDA/ESPN the Magazine All-Academic District VI At-Large team.

2012 Southland Conference Men’s Tennis All-Academic Team

First Team

Name School Cl. Hometown GPA Major

Yauheni Yakauleu* (1,2): UT Arlington Jr. Minsk, Belarus 3.61 Information Systems

Carlos Valdenebro(1): Lamar Sr. Sevilla, Spain 3.37 Mechanical Engineering

David Subirats (1): UT Arlington Sr. Barcelona, Spain 3.34 Interdisciplinary Studies

Yannick Junger (1): UTSA So. Stuttgart, Germany 3.37 Business

Daniel Moser (1): UTSA Sr. Texarkana, Texas 3.21 Psychology

Pedro Zanotelli (1): UTSA Sr. Fortaleza, Brazil 3.02 Business

Aurelien Tave (1): Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Jr. St. Gilles les Bains, Reunion Island 3.31 Health Sciences

Second Team

Name School Cl. Hometown GPA Major

Nathan Robinson: Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Sr. Abilene, Texas 3.96 Finance, Economics

Tyler Brown (2): UTSA Jr. New Braunfels, Texas 3.58 Political Science

Beau Bernstein (3): UTPA Sr. Sugarland, Texas 3.63 Anthropology

Matt Westmoreland: Texas A&M-Corpus Christi So. Oahu, Hawaii 3.40 Kinesiology

Gergo Weidinger: Texas A&M-Corpus Christi So. Budapest, Hungary 3.84 Finance

*2012 Southland Student-Athlete of the Year

1Automatic Selection

2Two-time All-Academic selection

3Three-time All-Academic selection


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago