T&F: Men place second, women third in Wichita

Clayton Vaughn made his 2012 debut Saturday in Wichita.

Feb. 4, 2012

Final ResultsGet Acrobat Reader

WICHITA, Kan. -- The UT Arlington men's track and field team placed second, while the women took third at the two-day Varsity Apartments Invitational hosted by Wichita State. A pair of men won individual titles, while three women had first-place finishes.

Jeff Rodriguez continued his outstanding season, winning the pole vault for the third time in four meets this season. This time he did it by clearing a school-record mark of 5.32 meters.

Emil Blomberg had the other men's victory, as he won the mile run with a time of 4:17.95 in his first outing of the season. Teammate Anthony Hilliman (4:19.00) gave the Mavericks a 1-2 finish in the event.

Another standout for the Mavericks was Isiah Clements, who placed second in the 400 meters (49.47) and also was runner up in the high jump (2.08m).

In the 60 meters, Clayton Vaughn's first race of 2012 culminated in a second-place finish (6.77). Quentin Butler placed fourth (6.91) in that event and was one place better in the 200 with a time of 22.24.

Robert Gribble had a runner-up showing in the 3000 meters with a season-best time of 8:44.88, nipping Cody Widener (8:44.98), who took fourth.

In addition, Anthony Rene placed third in the 800 meters (1:56.02), while Kemarki Absalom earned the same spot in the high jump (1.98m). In the triple jump, Omar Barnes took fourth at 13.99 meters, while Romain Martin placed fifth in the 60-meter hurdles (8.44).

Host Wichita State grabbed the men's team title with 163 points. UTA finished second with 109 points, followed by Doane (86) in third, Sam Houston State (68) in fourth and UMKC (38) in fifth.

On the women's side, UT Arlington swept the top three spots in the 800 meters Saturday. Lindsey Putman won with a clocking of 2:14.01, just ahead of teammates Elin Andersson (2:15.58) and Ashly Wright (2:16.03).

Putman continued her strong performance with a runner-up showing in the mile run. She posted a time of 4:58.57.

Emily Koenig added to UTA's dominance in the distance events as her time of 9:59.33 was good for the crown in the 3000 meters. Maria Sandstrom (10:04.74) took fourth in the event.

The other individual win came courtesy of DeAndrea Smith, who won the 400 meters with a time of 56.55. Breonna Baldwin netted third in that event (57.90).

Shannon Reynolds had a solid meet for the Mavericks, placing third in the 60 meters with a time of 7.65 and grabbing fifth in the long jump with a leap of 5.45 meters.

In addition, Eld-hah Kaswatuka placed fourth in the triple jump with a jump of 11.53m.

The Shockers made it a sweep by winning the women's team title with 134 points. The host school was followed by Sam Houston State (102.5), UT Arlington (82.5), Missouri State (75.5), Nebraska-Omaha (26.5), Doane (23) and UMKC (21).





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago