March 24, 2006

WACO, Texas - The UT Arlington men's and women's track and field teams will open the 2006 outdoor season when they compete at the Dr Pepper Invitational here Saturday.

Field events begin at 9 a.m. and running events at 12:30 p.m. at the Hart-Patterson Track and Field Complex.

UTA is joined by host Baylor, Abilene Christian, Angelo State, Incarnate Word, McMurry, Northwood, North Texas, Stephen F. Austin, Tarleton State, TCU, Texas A&M-Commerce and Wayland Baptist.

Results Results will be posted on immediately following the meet.

Indoor Recap Junior Jared Connaughton captured the Southland Conference 60- and 200-meter championships and was the Mavericks lone representative at the NCAA championship... Connaughton set a meet record in the 60 meters with a 6.68 time and in the 200 with 21.57 in the finals... senior middle distance runner Jacob Cedertun earned all-conference honors with a third-place finish in the men's 800 with a 1:54.09 and the mile run with a second-place finish on a time of 4:14.35... the men's distance medley relay team -- Idilio Campos, Aron Morgan, Robert Hughes and Daniel Noah -- earned all-SLC honors with a time of 10:16.35... senior Shay Collett captured the SLC Championship in the men's pole vault with a height of 16-07.5 and junior Quinchun Carey won the men's long jump title with a leap of 24-01.75... for the women's team, senior Ellen Garrison claimed the 60-meter crown with a time of 7.61.. senior Ivorita Taylor won the women's 800 meters with a 2:14.13 and teammate Carranda Mose earned all-conference honors with a second-place finish with a 2:17.86... the women's distance medley relay team of Mose, Bryana Hill, Kandace Council and Taylor - earned all-conference honors with a third-place finish at the SLC championships... junior Lacey Moore won the women's pole vault with a height of 21-02.5 and teammate Vanessa Maida took third with the same height.

UTA host Bobby Lane Invitational The Bobby Lane Arlington Invitational presented by Ben Hogan Sports Therapy Institute is Saturday, April 1, at Maverick Stadium.

Olympic silver medalist Darrell Williamson and Arlington native and Olympic gold medalist Jeremy Wariner, will run unattached in the competition.

Teams scheduled to compete include: Barton County (Kan.) CC, Johnson County (Kan.) CC, La.-Monroe, North Dakota State, Northwestern State, North Texas, Northwood, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, TCU, Tarleton, UT Arlington, and SMU's women's team.

The Chinese National Team will have their 4x100-meter and 4x400-meter relay teams competing.

"With the way the weather has been in the area, this meet is the first chance for teams to compete," said UTA Head Track and Field Coach John Sauerhage. "Since we are hosting the Southland Conference Championships in May, a number of conference teams will be competing and make for a strong field this year. "We are thrilled to have Jeremy return to Arlington. He competed at this meet two years ago and it is great to have an Arlington native return to Maverick Stadium."

- -




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago