July 16, 2007

UT Arlington track and field standouts Byron Majors and Coby Morrison have both been named to the 2007 U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Men's Division I All-Academic Track and Field Team announced recently.

Morrison began his career as a walk-on from Wichita Falls (Texas) Rider High School. He emerged as the most versatile athlete on the roster, qualifying for the regional in four events, including the 400-meter hurdles. He received an at-large bid to the NCAA Track and Field Championships in the 400-meter hurdles after running a time of 51.18 at the NCAA Midwest Regional in Des Moines, Iowa. He is a repeat member of the Southland Conference all-academic team and is a three-time member of the SLC Commissioner's Spring Academic Honor Roll. Morrison had a 3.38 GPA in mathematics and a Spanish minor.

Majors emerged as one of the top young sprinters in the conference last season. He earned a trip to the NCAA Championships as the third leg of the 4x100-meter relay that placed second at the Midwest Regional with a time of 39.65 seconds. Majors, a sophomore with a 3.3 GPA in exercise science, was named to the CapitalOne/Southland Commissioner's Spring Academic Honor Roll.

Earlier, cross country standout Jodi Hulett was named to the women's all-academic cross country team.

McNeese State's Bradley Gebauer and Mississippi's Barnabas Kirui were named the 2007 USTFCCCA Division I Indoor and Outdoor Scholar Athletes of the Year.

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, one must have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.25 and obtain an NCAA automatic or provisional qualifying mark for the most recent indoor championships or an outdoor regional qualifying mark in their respective event.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago