Rotating image

Zeb Strong Jr. was the 2009 All-Sports Banquet Keynote Speaker
Zeb Strong Jr. was the 2009 All-Sports Banquet Keynote Speaker

April 28, 2009


ARLINGTON, Texas - The University of Texas at Arlington Athletics Department held its annual All-Sports Banquet on Monday evening at the Blue Bonnet Ballroom on the campus of UT Arlington. Team and individual awards were handed out as UT Arlington celebrated the success and accomplishments during the 2008-2009 academic year.

Below is a recap of the evening's awards as student-athletes from track and field, softball, baseball, volleyball, men's basketball and women's basketball highlighted the evening.

Newcomer of the Year: Amanda Aguilera (Volleyball)
Big Al's Community Service Award: Curtis Hoyle (Track and Field), Heather Fortenberry (Softball)
Comeback of the Year (Academic GPA): Andy Sauter (Baseball)
Athletics Alumni Club Award: Anthony Vereen (Men's Basketball), Erin Dixon (Women's Basketball)
Championship Moment: 2008 Men's Basketball SLC Tournament Championship Game
BG Wilson Scholar Athlete Award: Matt Otteman (Baseball), Samantha Churnchal (Softball)
Faculty Staff Loyalty Award: Cynthia Bing and Counseling Services Staff
Graduation Sash Presentation: All graduating seniors received sashes for their graduation gowns.