WG: UTA set for nation's largest college tournament

Feb. 24, 2018

GolfStat Results

KIAWAH ISLAND, S.C. -- The UT Arlington women's golf team returns to action tomorrow when compete in the largest collegiate golf tournament in the country at the Edwin Watts / Kiawah Island Spring Classic.

The 42-team event gets underway Sunday on two different golf courses with two waves of start times to accommodate the large field. The golfers will play the 5,964-yard, par 72 Osprey Point Golf Club and the 5,941-yard, par 72 Oak Point Golf Club. Both courses are located at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, home of the 2021 PGA Championship.

The tournament format consists of 54 total holes with one round each day, Sunday through Tuesday. The low four scores from each team's designated five golfers count toward the team total. The first wave each day will begin at 7:45 a.m. (CST) with a second wave going off at 12:30 p.m. (CST).

UTA will be represented by a 5-golfer team consisting of freshmen Ava Schwienteck (Magnolia, Texas), Madigan Murray (McKinney, Texas), Kate Tran (Arlington, Texas), Sydney Garber (Rockwall, Texas) and junior Rachel Phillips (Plano, Texas). Redshirt freshman Allison Wade (Arlington, Texas) will compete in the event as an individual with her scores not counting toward the team totals.

In addition to UTA, the 42-team field includes collegiate golfers from Bethune Cookman, Boston University, Bucknell, Charleston Southern, College of Charleston, East Tennessee State, Elon, Fairleigh Dickinson, Georgia Southern, Georgetown, Hampton, High Point, Indiana State, IUPUI, Jacksonville, Jacksonville State, Lipscomb, Longwood, Marshall, Navy, UNCG, UNCW, Murray State, North Florida, Omaha, Presbyterian, Quinnipiac, Richmond, Samford, Sandhills Community College, SCAD, Stephen F. Austin, Stetson, St. John's, South Dakota, Tennessee Tech, Towson, USC Upstate, Western Carolina, Western Kentucky and William & Mary.



Tabbed as the largest collegiate golf tournament in the country, the 2018 edition of the Edwin Watts / Kiawah Island Spring Classic has expanded to 43 teams in this year’s field and will be played for the fourth time in its history at Osprey Point at the Kiawah Island Golf Resort on Kiawah Island, S.C.

Last year, Coastal Carolina won the team title for the second year in a row (+6), while host College of Charleston was runner-up (+7). CofC’s Laura Fuenfstueck won individual medalist honors (-8) and East Tennessee State’s Hee Ying Loy was the runner-up (-6).

UTA returns to action on March 19-21 at the ORU/SFA Spring Break Shootout at Trophy Club (Texas) Country Club. The team plays five regular season spring events prior to the annual Sun Belt Conference Championships, which are scheduled for April 16-18 at Raven Golf Course in Miramar Beach, Fla.

For up-to-date news, photos, videos and updates you can follow UTA sports program online at UTAMavs.com or via any of several social media accounts on twitter @UTAMavs, Instagram @UTAMavs, Snapchat @UTAMavs and Facebook at UTArlingtonAthletics. Follow UTA golf on Twitter @UTAMavsGolf and Instagram @UTA_womensgolf and @uta_mensgolf.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago