Volleyball and Women's Tennis earn Public Recognition Awards

Women's tennis received a Public Recognition Award.

May 9, 2014

NEW ORLEANS, Louisiana – Seven Sun Belt teams were among the honorees as the NCAA released on Wednesday its Public Recognition Awards for teams posting scores in the top 10 percent of their sport.
"We are very proud of our student-athletes dedication to academics and recognize the support of their coaches, which gives them the opportunity to keep academics on the forefront of all that they do," UT Arlington SWA Debbie Garcia said.

The seven Sun Belt teams earning the Public Recognition Awards are:
Georgia State Men's Golf
Texas State Women's Golf
Texas State Women's Tennis
UT Arlington Women's Tennis
UT Arlington Women's Volleyball
UL Monroe Women's Golf
WKU Women's Volleyball
"Each year, more and more teams are achieving perfect APR scores," said NCAA president Mark Emmert. "We are proud of our member schools' commitment to providing tremendous opportunities for student-athletes so they can succeed on the field, in the classroom, and in life."
The NCAA honors selected Division I sports teams by publicly recognizing their latest multiyear NCAA Division I Academic Progress Rate (APR).  This announcement is part of the overall Division I academic reform effort and is intended to highlight teams that demonstrate a commitment to academic progress and retention of student-athletes by achieving the top APRs within their respective sports.  Specifically, these teams posted multiyear APRs in the top 10 percent of all squads in each sport.  This year's release again included recognition in the sport of football by subdivision (i.e., Football Bowl Subdivision and Football Championship Subdivision).
The APR provides a real-time look at a team's academic success each semester by tracking the academic progress of each student-athlete on scholarship.  The APR accounts for eligibility, retention and graduation and provides a measure of each team's academic performance. 
Multiyear APRs for all Division I sports teams, including the teams receiving public recognition, will be announced May 14.  That announcement also will include APP penalties for low-performing teams, teams subject to postseason ineligibility and head coach APRs.  As in past years, you will be notified prior to this public release of scores, postseason ineligibility and penalties




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago