UTA women second, men fourth at conference championship

Adolphus Jones won the heptathlon with 5,475 points.
Adolphus Jones won the heptathlon with 5,475 points.

Feb. 27, 2010

ARLINGTON, Texas - Head coach John Sauerhage was right about the women having a good second day at the Southland conference indoor championships at the University of Oklahoma.

The women climbed out of sixth place to finish second with 122 points to finish behind Stephen F. Austin while the men fell two places to finish fourth with 82 points behind champion UTSA.

Although the women were in sixth before the day started, an excellent showing in the 200, 400 and 800 meter dash totaled 57 points and was a huge contributor in their final score.

Senior Jasmine Walls won the 60 meters in 7.56 and the 200 meters in 24.61. Those two victories gave the Mavericks 20 points.

Shannon Reynolds finished fourth behind Walls in the 60 meters and Antonia Hopkins finished second in the 200 meters. Reynolds finished with a time of 7.70 and Hopkins finished second behind Walls by just fractions of a second with a time of 24.64.

The women had four runners finish within the top eight in both the 400 meter dash and 800 meter run.

Adolphus Jones won the indoor heptathlon after finished day one in first place after four events. Jones did not finish below sixth place in any event and gathered in 5,475 points. He set the meet record in the men's high jump with a height of 2.06 meters.

Dwight Robinson took first place in the 800 meters with a time of 1:53.52

Cordero Gray finished second in the finals behind UTSA's Teddy Williams. Gray improved his time to a career best 6.72.

The women's 4x440 relay team, consisting of seniors Megan Turner, Jasmine Walls, Antonia Hopkins and freshman DeAndrea Smith, finished second with a time of 3:50.62.




at the Official Online Store