VB: Canete, Geathers Earn All-Conference Honors

Nov. 15, 2017

ARLINGTON, Texas -- UTA volleyball standouts Qiana Canete and Zhanelle Geathers have been selected All-Sun Belt Conference by the league coaches, it was announced on Wednesday morning.

Canete, a senior outside hitter, was named first-team All-Sun Belt for the second consecutive year, while Geathers, a 6-foot-3 middle blocker, was named second-team All-Sun Belt Conference for the first time in her decorated career. The dynamic duo marks the 95th and 96th all-time all-conference honorees in UTA history.

A native of Copperas Cove, Texas, Canete ranks third in the conference with 3.60 kills per set. Canete leads the Mavs in kills per set, while adding 3.09 digs per set. A preseason All-Conference selection, Canete has had a historic season that has seen her shatter the program record for career kills. She ranks third in UTA history in career digs, the only player to rank among the top five in each category. In her career, Canete is averaging 3.18 kills and 3.43 digs per set, with 1,486 kills and 1,606 digs.

Geathers, a native of Lindale, Texas, has totaled career highs in kills (363), kills per set (3.46), digs (96) and digs per set (0.91). She ranks fourth in the Sun Belt in kills per set. In her career, Geathers – a fourth-year junior who will finalize her eligibility in 2017 – has totaled 876 kills and 2.58 kills per set.  

UTA (13-16, 7-9 Sun Belt) is poised to face seventh-seeded Appalachian State (11-19, 6-10 Sun Belt) in the first round of the 2017 Sun Belt Conference Championships on Thursday at 5 p.m. CT in Jonesboro, Ark.

First Team All-Sun Belt
Drew Jones (Arkansas State, Senior, OH)
*Carlisa May (Arkansas State, Junior, OH)
*Leah Hardeman (Coastal Carolina, Senior, OH)
Lauren Reichard (Georgia Southern, Junior, MH)
Dree'Ana Abram (Louisiana, Sophomore, MB)
Hali Wisnoskie (Louisiana, Freshman, OH)
Kelley Hartman (South Alabama, Sophomore, MB)
**Qiana Cañete (UTA, Senior, OH)
Madison Daigle (Texas State, Junior, MB)
Micah Dinwiddie (Texas State, Sophomore, DS)
**Erin Hoppe (Texas State, Senior, S)
Amy Pflughaupt (Texas State, Sophomore, OH)



Second Team All-Sun Belt
Melissa McMath (Appalachian State, Sophomore, OH)
Marina Avram (Little Rock, Senior, OH)
Tatum Ticknor (Arkansas State, Freshman, DS)
Ellie Watkins (Arkansas State, Junior, S)
Sydney Alvis (Coastal Carolina, Junior, DS)
Celeste Friesen (Georgia State, Sophomore, DS)
Jessica Bartczyszyn (Louisiana, Senior, S)
Sydney Davis (Louisiana, Junior, LB)
Kristina Alabastro (South Alabama, Junior, OH)
Zhanelle Geathers (UTA, Junior, MB)
Jaliyah Bolden (Texas State, Senior, MB)
Megan Porter (Texas State, Sophomore, OH)

Player of the Year
Leah Hardeman (Coastal Carolina, Senior, OH)
Offensive Player of the Year
Carlisa May (Arkansas State, Junior, OH)
Defensive Player of the Year
Micah Dinwiddie (Texas State, Sophomore, DS)
Setter of the Year
Erin Hoppe (Texas State, Senior, S)
Freshman of the Year
Hali Wisnoskie (Louisiana, Freshman, OH)
Newcomer of the Year
Amy Pflughaupt (Texas State, Sophomore, OH)
Coach of the Year
Jozsef Foreman, Coastal Carolina

* - 2016 First Team All-Conference selection
** - 2016 Second Team All-Conference selection

For up-to-date news, photos, videos and updates you can follow UTA sports program online at UTAMavs.com or via any of several social media accounts on twitter @UTAMavs, Instagram @UTAMavs, Snapchat @UTAMavsand Facebook at UTArlingtonAthletics. Follow @UTAVolleyball on twitter and at UTAVolleyballon Facebook.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago