Three Volleyball players make All-Academic Team

Tara Frantz earned a spot on the first-team Southland Conference All-Academic squad.

Dec. 15, 2011

FRISCO, Tex. - Three UT Arlington seniors earned spots on the Southland Conference All-Academic team, the conference office announced Thursday.

Alicia Shaffer and Tara Frantz each were named first-team Southland Conference All-Academic. Amanda Aguilera earned a spot on the second-team Southland Conference All-Academic squad.

Shaffer earned the league's top defensive honor as Southland Conference Libero of the Year. Add to her impressive play on the court her work in the classroom, where she earned a 3.65 Grade Point Average, and Shaffer was an easy selection for the All-Academic team.

A Business Management major, Shaffer broke the program's all-time digs record this season.

On the court, Frantz led the Mavericks in kills and finished with a .217 attack percentage. She finished as a first-team All-Southland Conference selection. During the final match of her career, she reached the 1,000-kill milestone.

A Kinesiology major, Frantz had a 3.71 GPA to earn her spot on the all-academic team.

Aguilera finished her career with more than 1,000 kills and 1,000 digs. As a senior, Aguilera finished second on the team in kills and digs. Her play made her an honorable mention All-Southland Conference selection.

UTSA senior Kelsey Jewasko was named the Southland Conference Volleyball Student-Athlete of the Year.

UTSA led all teams with three first-team all-academic selections. McNeese State and UT Arlington both had three all-academic selections with two first-team members and one second-team member. Sam Houston State, Stephen F. Austin and Texas State had two all-academic selections while Central Arkansas, Southeastern Louisiana and Texas A&M-Corpus Christi had one selection apiece.

Automatic selections include CoSIDA Academic All-District selections and those who received first-team all-conference honors. This year, 11 members on the first-team all-academic squad were automatic selections, leaving seven open positions on the two teams to be filled by vote.



Among the 18 student-athletes selected for academic recognition, 13 have GPAs of 3.5 or higher.

The Southland Conference awards committee, which consists of one administrator from each of the 12 member universities, voted for the student-athlete of the year. The Southland student-athlete of the year award is presented to the one student-athlete who achieves excellence in both academics and athletics. All nominees shall have earned at least a 3.2 GPA on a 4.0 scale, and demonstrated athletics achievement for at least two years at the nominating institution.

The all-academic teams are voted on by the head coaches, sports information directors and academic/compliance administrators from each Southland Conference university. Student-athletes must possess a 3.0 cumulative GPA, have completed one full academic year at the nominating institution and participated in at least 50 percent of the team's competition to qualify for the all-academic squad.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago