UT Arlington Men and Women Cross Country Open Season at TCU

Amanda McMahon returns to lead the women's team to a succesful season
Amanda McMahon returns to lead the women's team to a succesful season

Sept. 2, 2009

ARLINGTON, Texas - Coach John Sauerhage isn't hiding anything. No point in sugarcoating the obvious: The Men's Cross Country team is going to need a lot of work going into the TCU Season Opener this Saturday.

"The men's team is going to be a work in progress," Sauerhage said. "We might not fair well in the fall, but the future is bright for our cross country team because they are all almost entirely freshmen."

Freshmen Anthony Groom, Hance Loyd, Eric Montou, Kevin, Vasquez, Ken Wallace and Cody Widener will all be running this weekend. That makes six freshmen with the only non-freshmen runners being juniors Darren Rous, Heinz Schwarzkopf, Garrett Yuen and Zach Zura.

Sauerhage said he's looking forward to this first meet just to see what type of runners he has collected. Right now Sauerhage has only been able to see his freshmen train, so he'll be interested to say the least when he sees them in a competitive atmosphere.

"I'm holding out hope that some of them are better racers then they are trainers," Sauerhage said. "When the gun goes off they get a competitive fire about them which is why they are successful athletes. So look for some of them to surprise you on Saturday morning compared to what you've seen in the training."

The women's side is a little more stable with junior Amanda McMahon leading the charge. Sauerhage said he wouldn't rule out a top three finish in the league with this group of women.

"There's a proven commodity on the women's side," he said. "We're looking for big things from Amanda."



Expect to see McMahon run along side juniors Esther Abuto, Kisha Gaspard and Christina Mose.

The meet will take place this Saturday with the men starting their 4-Mile race at 8:15 a.m. and the women with their 2-Mile at 8:45 a.m. Along with UTA on the men's side will be TCU and North Texas. The women's race will include UTA along with SMU, TCU and North Texas.


at the Official Online Store